Stuff

Having never gone on a pleasure road trip before (I’ve driven up the East Coast before, several times, but I haven’t had much fun doing it, spending most of my time speeding and avoiding the cops), I’m having a bit of trouble putting together a list of stuff. There’s a lot of it, and it’s a bit overwhelming.

If you look to the right, you will see a link to our Amazon wishlist, which includes books, tents, a stove, a backpack, a flashlight, a new camera, a gps system, all the stuff necessary for camping out. I think.

I don’t actually expect anyone to buy us stuff. Though I wouldn’t say no. And I’d write you a…limerick…or something. Seriously, I’d be greatful. And I’d thank you profusely, and buy you a drink (one drink equals one digital camera, right?)

But if you have an idea of what I should be getting instead of, or in addition to, what you find in our wishlist, please let us know! Because I don’t have any idea what the hell I’m doing.

~ by neoney on June 13, 2007.

4 Responses to “Stuff”

  1. Congratulations to the both of you. Looks like you’ve got a fun few weeks planned. Being an avid camper myself, there are some serious and not so serious things missing from your list. The most important is a first aid kit. A good one. No matter how far out you are, it’s essential you be able to take care of the easy stuff without having to go back to the road.

    If you don’t have one already, definitely invest in an analog coffee maker like a percolator or french press. I assume you have all the cookware you’ll need for the trip and some cheap mugs and plates and whatever. Also, you may want to invest in a hatchet for firewood because sitting around the propane stove sipping whiskey spiked apple cider and roasting marshmallows just isn’t as gratifying. Plus it’s not very warm. Depending on how far out you’re going a hand shovel wouldn’t hurt either.

    Get a small compass. The fanciest GPS in the world will never outmode a magnetized needle floating in water. I can’t tell you how many times knowing which way is north has saved my tuchus.

    Have fun and good luck.

  2. Thanks David!

    I’m going to add that stuff to the list right away.

    Also, how’s life?

    Neil

  3. So when are you going to be in S.F.? Can I share you with Adam?

    xxxMaddyxxx

  4. Maddy,

    Absofreakenlutely! I would love to see you, as you know. We will be in SF at some point between September 30th and October 2nd, and probably for a few days.

Leave a Reply

 
