Blogenvy and our Routes


Team ZacharyZachary, hard at work. Photo borrowed shamelessly from Stephen at Flyingthud.

So this week, clearly, is the time to shine for our friends at ZacharyZachary.com. Currently, they are blogging their little hearts out covering the 2007 World Barista Championship in Tokyo, Japan. Don’t know what that is? Well, by all means, head over there and discover the hour upon hour of video coverage. I know I did!

However, there are only so many times you can watch someone make four cappuccinos, or hear nick cho say “let’s hear it for (insert national barista champion here)”, and we’ve noticed that many have come to us as a reprieve for WBC-overdose.

So, I decided to take matters into my own hands with a completely unrelated post, still hopefully media and link-laden, and just as snazzy as you might expect from a young blogging whippersnapper.

Zacharyzachary has reminded Neil and myself that we have drifted away from our original message: we are driving across the country! In just a few weeks now! And we are going to take indie coffee shops, music stores, breweries and restaurants by storm! And we want to meet you, dear reader, if you are anywhere on our route, or even convincingly on the way.

Here are some of the places that I am most stoked about (in rough order of our appearance):

Aldo Coffee Company, Mt. Lebanon, PA. Expected Arrival Date: September 14: I first saw the Aldo crew at the North East Regional Barista Competition, and was impressed with the sheer number of competitors coming out of the shop. Now that they’ve been firmly planted in my RSS reader, it’s a treat to go visit the first Mt. Lebanon Coffee bloggers. I also want to see their patio.

Wrigley Field, Chicago, IL. Expected Arrival Date: September 16 or 17. Being a fan of underdogs everywhere, I am totally into going to a Cubs game.

PT’s Coffee Topeka, Kansas. Expected Arrival Date: September 20. When I tasted PT’s espresso for the first time last month in DC, I was really surprised. I had heard good things, of course, but it was one of my favorite shots of the day (out of 18). So I am really, really into seeing how things are done at their shop in Topeka. Plus, it helps us avoid Nebraska!

Novo Coffee, Denver CO. Expected Arrival Date: September 21. I have had some of their coffees, so I would love to see the sleek packaging come to life in their cafe. Ooh – but now I see they’re part of a farmer’s market. Maybe we’ll go to that.

Yosemite National Park, Sierra Nevada Mountains, CA. Expected arrival date: September 24. Honestly, I wish we were visiting more National Parks. Hopefully we will visit more in other states, but we have to go to Yosemite. It’s a road trip! What road trip would be complete without some momentous landmark?
559582638_f3a575a160_m

Espresso Jetpack, as originally documented by James Hoffmann.
Ritual Coffee Roasters, San Francisco CA. Expected Arrival Date: September 25. Along with visiting many friends, I am excited to revisit the SF coffee scene, where grinders get jetpacks and baristas are great teachers. I am stoked about seeing Blue Bottle, too, but nothing on this trip comes as highly regarded as the line at Ritual. It better be there!

Stumptown Coffee, Portland OR. Expected Arrival Date: September 27. I am currently thinking that our few hours in Portland (maybe we’ll stay the night?) will be a manic cafe-viewing frenzy, but obviously I cannot miss Stumptown or the Stumptown Annex.

Yanni’s Greek Cuisine, Seattle WA. Expected Arrival Date: September 28, the minute I get in. My favorite restaurant of all time will be the first stop after I shower when I get home! Then it will be off to the new Victrola, to try Bronwen’s caps at Sitka and Spruce, and to visit some other new shops that have opened up in Seatown since I left. If only I’d get the welcome of James Hoffmann – I want to roast coffee on the beach! Although I do have a wedding to go to, and I have to spend time with the fam!

This is going to be a crazy adventure, I see it now. And we’ll be blogging about it!

~ by Anne on July 31, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
