Seattle

Ok, so to I would like to start off by relieving myself of any lack-of-blogging guilt in regards to this post. I was on vacation, like, the real kind you have where you sit in front of a fire and read a book for a week. Only I was in Seattle, and sat talking with my friends and family, usually at a coffee shop and usually with no books.

But Seattle was very good in general. I got to hear, taste, touch and see things that so many people in my life had made. I went to a concert, saw art, drank great beer and had amazing coffee. And I did it all without the normal stress of life in New York City.

So here are some of the things that I did.

First, my dear friend Emily and her fiance Ben had me over so an amazing meal of fresh vegetable soup, with beer, bread and applesauce for dessert. It was heavenly. Ben played the newest song his band H is for Hellgate had written,
“Tina Fey”, which I now play incessantly at home. We spent the rest of the evening at Zoka, where I had a delightful latte, as usual.

IMG_1208.JPGIMG_1215.JPG

Then I spent another day with my friend Andreas, who took me to a mutual friend’s gallery, the punkest on 2nd Avenue: McLeod Residence. I was pretty wary of the art before I went in, but once I got inside I found it all to be quite interesting. My particular favorites were the lights designed by Maggie Orth, which were fuzzy and responded to touch. So cool!
IMG_1220.JPGIMG_1229.JPG

Then we took the bus up to Capitol Hill and checked out the brand-spankin’ new Stumptown, located at Pine and Belmont…ish. It’s on Pine. Duane had insisted that I visit both shops, so Andreas took up Neil’s job as blog-prodder and we hit up both stores together. The newest one was already full of customers which is surely a good sign. The barista was super friendly, and seemed really excited to be working at the new space. Who wouldn’t with wallpaper like this to look at all day?

IMG_1227.JPG

Also, Andreas is not as good a blogger, as he drank from his latte before I took a photo:
IMG_1218.JPG
Thankfully, no stirring was involved in the drinking of this latte.

On my last day in town, I had some time to kill with my mom, so we went to the newest Victrola, on Pike in an amazing space. My camera died that morning, but Daniel took some nice shots of it when he was last in Seatown so go look at them. We had our coffee, and wondered what to do with ourselves before she schlepped me to the airport, when suddenly I realized I hadn’t been to Vivace!

So without further ado my mom and I headed there, and it was just as I remembered: the most pleasant 20 minute wait for coffee one could ever expect to find anywhere. Two baristas, working their butts off but still having a good time and enjoying the company of their coworkers and their customers. Just like when I was in school, I happily stood in line waiting for my own little slice of heaven. I ordered an espresso, to round out my cross-country tasting experience, and it was just as lovely as one might expect. Vivace will probably always hold a very special place in my heart.

~ by Anne on October 13, 2007.

One Response to “Seattle”

  1. I’m so sad that I missed you! I’m glad you got to see the gallery, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
