Gimme! New Year’s


(used without permission from Mike White’s flickr account because when I tried to take the same picture, it didn’t come out, thus proving him a better photographer than me.)

So Mike White invited us to his New Year’s Blow-out, and after completely flaking out on another engagement, we decided to go on down to Soho to visit the new shop and socialize.

We started at Joe the Art of Coffee, where Anne and Meghan Pino, a new barista at Joe, were finishing up a shift. Anne bought New Year’s hats for the two of them:

IMG_2011

After getting dinner, we went to Gimme, where they had set up a Clover for general use, making me think they might be getting one? But no, alas, it was just there to tease us. On the bright side, though, I got to use it to make some Guatemalan coffee from Coffee Labs Roasters in Tarrytown, NY. It was good, though I used too much coffee, I have heard, and was too strong. But I think I did pretty good for my first time.

Overall, a good night, and I was excited to both see the new place and to meet Mike, and I look forward to seeing the place when it opens, and check out Daniel Humphries blog, because I have it on good authority that there’ll be public cuppings held there with some regularity.

IMG_2018

~ by neoney on January 3, 2008.

3 Responses to “Gimme! New Year’s”

  1. the clover is not just there to tease! it’s stayin for ever ever.

    thanks for comin! and you now have my permission to use the picture…

  2. oh, and thanks for bringing that hats!

  3. Seriously? That makes me happy. I really have a thing for Clovers, so now I’m more excited than ever!

Leave a Reply

 
